Color Scheme:

Background Pattern:

Click To Reset Settings
Join us Sunday, December 17, at Captain Butler's for our Christmas Pageant at 9:00 and Service of Lessons and Carols at 10:00. Childcare available.

Council and Leadership Teams



The Evangelical Lutheran Church of the Ascension is part of the Southeastern Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.


Our congregation has a constitution and bylaws that provide a framework for carrying out our ministry.  Congregational meetings are held twice a year to elect members of the Congregational Council, which meets monthly; approve an annual budget; and consider other items of business for the good of the church.  We celebrate all of our lay leaders who help us carry out Ascension’s mission and vision!



(by Les Robinson of the Center for Congregational Health) PDF



Congregational Council
John Manly – President
Patty Wakely – Vice President
Lynne Hollenbach – Secretary
Ralph Smith – Treasurer
Andrew Benton
Caroline Bridgers
Beth Brodley
Gail Connolly
Jimmy Crumley
Paul Ewaldsen
Dan Pioske
Mark Smith


Ministry Teams
Worship/Music:  Nele Ewaldsen, Chair
Finance:  Mark Smith, Chair
Evangelism/Communications:  Margo Jones, Chair
Mutual Ministry:  Mark Berry, Chair
Outreach:  Dorinda Duggan, Chair
Property/Capt. Butler’s:  Charlie Miller, Chair
History/Archives:  Katherine Tillman, Chair
Hospitality:  Andrea Benton, Chair
Altar Guild:  Gaye Oetgen, Chair